Uncommon Height Gala

The 2019 Uncommon Height Gala will be held Wednesday, November 20, 2019, at the Washington Hilton Hotel, Washington, DC, 1919 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20009. #UncommonHeight2019

Ticket Information - Click here

Hotel Information - Click here


The National Council of Negro Women (NCNW) is pleased to announce the presentation of our highest award at the 2019 Uncommon Height Gala, in honor of our iconic leader, Dr. Dorothy Irene Height.   The Crystal Stair Award is presented to an individual who demonstrates a lifetime devoted to freedom and the pursuit of excellence.  The award is a tribute to the late Dr. Dorothy Irene Height, former chair of NCNW, described as ‘the ability to extend far above and beyond oneself to achieve greatness.”


The Uncommon Height Gala brings together many of the country’s top community and business leaders, educators, entertainers, elected officials and media personalities to recognize NCNW’s years of service. NCNW members, sections and affiliates, will honor the philosophy of the organization’s founder, Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune and the vision of the future led by 7th National President, Dr. Johnnetta Betsch Cole.


The Uncommon Height Gala is a festive black-tie optional event. Proceeds are used to continue our long-standing community-based programs, empower women, strengthen families and communities, and launching new initiatives for future generations. It's forward-thinking programs like Women’s Empowerment & Entrepreneurship Webinars, Millennial Entrepreneurs Webinars, and GirlTECH foster the growth of women’s influence in business, science and technology. Lead by the Honorable Alexis M. Herman, former U.S. Secretary of Labor and NCNW Vice-Chair Dr. Thelma T. Daley the Gala promises to be an extraordinary celebration. We are fortunate to have as our co-chairs for this year’s gala Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth and Andrea Frazier. Kenneth is the chairman and CEO of the pharmaceutical company Merck & Co. Toyota Motor North America, Inc. and The Coca-Cola Company are this year’s corporate sponsors.