State Leaders

State leaders are the coordinators of the NCNW Sections, Guilds and members within their state.

Their purpose is to convene the organizations and members together to work collectively on issues of concern to African American women, families and communities. State Organizations (including state coalitions, convener teams and state mechanisms) serve as the coordinating and convening body through which the resources, talents and skills of NCNW members in the state are channeled and focused for maximum impact.


Name Position State Primary Email Address
Dr. Helena Johnson State Convener Southern California
Ms. Donna Wood President Northern California
Ms. JoAnn P. Miller State Convener Connecticut
Ms. Tempress Solomon State Coalition President Florida
Dr. Darlene Ruffin-Alexander State Coalition President Georgia
Ms. Jacquelyn Heath Parker State Convener Illinois
Ms. S. Chanel Woods State Convener Indiana
Ms. Bonita Reed State Coalition President Mississippi
Ms. Queen Degraphenried State Coalition President North Carolina
Ms. Olivia V. Smith State Convener New Jersey
Ms. Johnnie M. Walker Chair, State Conveners’ Team New York
Ms. Lynda F. Bagley Member, State Conveners’ Team New York
Mrs. Evelyn Kinsey Member, State Conveners’ Team New York
Ms. Janice Taylor State Coalition President Ohio
Ms. Tameko Patterson State Coalition President Pennsylvania
Ms. Sarah Je Dean Chair Rocky Mountain Region Alliance
Ms. Willease Williams State Mechanism President South Carolina
Dr. Mollie Williams State Convener Texas